Character Spotlights

Blinney Lane Character Spotlight: Meet Ranthrop Groslivo

Author Drea Damara takes us behind the character of Ranthrop Groslivo from the Blinney Lane novels.

ancient antique armor armour

Photo by Maria Pop on Pexels.com

Born the only son of Lord Gharen, Ranthrop was raised knowing that he would one day carry on the tradition of leader of the Southland people. From the beaches of the Gruenie Sea, through the forests, all the way to where the swampland meets the rolling plains of the North, the Groslivos have been keepers of southern Farwin Wood ever since Ranthrop’s ancestors led the people there to tame their wild surroundings rather than succumb to them. Training skithers, battling fonskas, and leading warriors are written in his blood.

After the adventure that took his father’s life, he quickly learned how to be indestructible as well as a ruler. One thing he never mastered, however, was his judgement. After igniting a senseless war, he sees that the hasty decisions of youth have nearly broken his people, his lands, and his faith in himself. But it is the balance of nature that light always somehow finds its way to darkness and Ranthrop is given a chance to rebuild and redeem. In the company of friends who were once enemies, a stronghold full of delightfully eager women, and a loyal guard who has been through his darkest hours with him, Ranthrop knows he should be grateful.

With a future that holds nothing but promise, he cannot comprehend the nagging feeling that he has yet to experience the adventure of his lifetime.

After all that he has done and seen, what could that possibly be?

Is there something undiscovered that can satisfy the insatiable thirst for life of this fun-loving warrior?

Find out more about Ranthrop and the other beloved characters in the Blinney Lane novels in Beyond Farwin Wood by Drea Damara

Fairwin_Wood_D_Damara_FC_FINAL

About the book: Valerie Millville is tired of her controlling mother, disappointing men, and being misunderstood. Determined to escape her life on Blinney Lane, she and troublemaker Ricky Allister volunteer to find a cure to Agatha Blinney’s curse and venture inside one of the cursed books to the land of Terradoon.

From mythical lands to peculiar allies to other worldly creatures, Valerie learns not all stories are written in stone—or even in one dimension. Can she and Ricky save Franci in time or will their friend become another casualty of the curse that binds Blinney Lane? Will Farwin Wood show them secrets undiscovered or are mysteries merely in the eye of the beholder? Get ready for an adventure that will transport you into the pages of a fantasy world beyond reality.

Available Formats:
Hardcover, 978-1-948540-43-8, $26.95, 368 pages
Trade Softcover, 978-1-948540-71-1, $16.95, 368 pages
Ebook, 978-1-948540-44-5, $7.99

LCCN: 2016954229

To learn more about the book, including where to purchase, visit our website.

Read an excerpt of Beyond Farwin Wood

Advance Praise for Beyond Farwin Wood

“Drea Damara outdid herself, doing the almost impossible and improving on an already powerful story.” —John Darryl Winston, author of the IA series

“…masterfully creative… This thrilling and intriguing tale will keep you engaged until the very end. Fantasy writing at its best!” —Gwendalyn Anderson, Gwendalyn Books

“I was captivated…I found this to be a charming and gentle fairy tale, despite the ‘monsters’ (all animal, no humans). A very sweet adventure story with strong characters.” —Janet Newport, NetGalley Reviewer

“When I got to the end of the book, I wanted more. I actually looked for additional pages, not wanting it to end. I want to know what happens to these characters that you grow to love and root for. I want to see where their paths continue, both in Massachusetts and in the Weeping books. The characters are written in a way that you feel they are your friends and family and that you want to join them on their adventures. I truly hope Drea considers writing more Blinney Lane books. I feel there is so much more that can be explored.” —Melissa, Goodreads Reviewer

Weeping_Books_Blinney_Lane_D_Damara_WEB

About the book: Welcome to Blinney Lane, a historical Salem shopping district controlled by a witch’s curse.

Sarah Allister just wants a normal life running her bookstore and daydreaming about the handsome deliveryman. Contentment seems within reach, even if she has to deal with the daily phenomena that occur in her shop.

But when her spirited nephew shows up to spend the summer, all bets are off. Now Sarah must keep Ricky from discovering the curse of Blinney Lane and awakening its full power.

Available Formats:
Hardcover, 978-1-947727-28-1, $27.95, 400 pages
Trade Softcover, 978-1-947727-29-8, $16.95, 400 pages
Ebook, 978-1-948540-99-5, $7.99

LCCN: 2018930078

To learn more about the book, including where to purchase, visit our website.

Read an excerpt of The Weeping Books of Blinney Lane

Praise for The Weeping Books of Blinney Lane

“holds the rare ability to reach widely outside of its genre: young adults, mystery readers, and those who love novels about antiques and bookstores will find it equally compelling and inviting…” —Midwest Book Review

“a fantastical adventure encompassing witchcraft, alternate worlds, romance, family, and honor full of rich characters and worlds. Suitable for young adults.” —The San Francisco Book Review

“Readers will enjoy this charming fantasy…and its timely message about love and how true love always requires sacrifice.” —InD’Tale Magazine

Beyond Farwin Wood is a charming read that will appeal to fans of The Princess Bride and Stardust and is also suitable for young adults.

All books are available in hardcover, trade softcover, and ebook. Order direct from Ingram, Overdrive, or the publisher’s website.

About the author: Drea Damara grew up in Illinois working on her family’s farm. Raised in a home of seven with only one television, she spent her free time reading and roaming the woods. Drea enjoys writing in multiple genres and is currently at work on her next novel.

About the publisher: BHC Press is an independent publisher of general fiction and nonfiction hardcover, softcover, and ebooks for both YA and adults. To learn more, visit our website.

1 reply »

Leave a Reply to the #1 Itinerary Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s