BHC Press Acquires Firebird Fairytales Series by Fantasy Author Amy Kuivalainen

Joni Firestone at BHC Press has acquired world rights to the Firebird Fairytales series by fantasy author Amy Kuivalainen. Titles include Cry of the Firebird, Ashes of the Firebird, Rise of the Firebird, The Exorcist and the Demon Hunter, and Of Starlight and Midnight.

Also included in the deal is The Blood Lake Chronicles spinoff featuring character Eldon Blaise. Titles include Wylt, Blaise, Kingdom, and Once.

“The idea for the series came to me while on a flight,” says author Kuivalainen. I’d just finished reading a short story by Neil Gaiman where a woman is given a firebird egg for her mantlepiece. I wondered if a firebird egg hatched, would people go on quests looking for it?”

Amy_photo twoDrawing upon her love of Russian and Finnish fairytales, Kuivalainen based much of her inspiration on Russian myths about Baba Yaga and Yvan and the firebird as well as on legends and gods found in The Kalevala. “Combining mythology and magic, while setting it against the real world and creating new fairy tales with old faces, is what I’m most passionate about when I write. I went crazy with this universe,” Kuivalainen continued.

“Ms. Kuivalainen continues to astound us with her talent,” says publisher Joni Firestone. “Her writing is fresh and unique. We’re currently publishing her Magicians of Venice fantasy series and it’s receiving great praise from reviewers and readers. We can’t wait to introduce everyone to these upcoming series featuring a large cast of reluctant heroes. Nobody combines legends, dark gods, monsters, mythology, and magic like Ms. Kuivalainen.”

About the Firebird Fairytales series: When a firebird is reborn on the borders of Russia, a gate to a world of monsters and magic begins to break, and only Anya, a reluctant, untrained shaman, stands in the way of the flood of supernatural darkness.

About Amy Kuivalainen: Amy Kuivalainen is a Finnish-Australian writer who is obsessed with magical wardrobes, doors, auras, and burial mounds that might offer her a way into another realm. Her writing is a direct result of her love of ancient history, magic, mythology, and fairy tales, and mashing them up into new, inventive, and fun ways.

She’s the author of The Magicians of Venice series featuring The Immortal City, the upcoming The Sea of the Dead (releasing September 17, 2020) and she’s currently finishing writing the final installment in the series, The King’s Seal, slated for publication by BHC Press in fall 2021. She lives in the beautiful city of Melbourne, and she enjoys practicing yoga and spending time hanging out with her German Shepherd, Duke.

About BHC Press: BHC Press is an award-winning independent publisher of fiction and nonfiction for the adult, teen, and children’s market. Based in southeast Michigan and founded in 2016, their books are published in hardcover, trade softcover, and ebook, and have been favorably reviewed and featured in Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Library Journal, Parade Magazine, and many others. To learn more, visit their website.

Cry of the Firebird
On Sale: 6/24/2021
Hardcover | ISBN: 9781643971896 |Price: $26.95 | 352 pages
Trade Softcover | ISBN: 9781643971902 |Price: $15.95 | 352 pages
Ebook | ISBN: 9781643971919 |Price: $7.99

For interview or review copy requests, contact Joni Firestone at BHC Press.

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s